Excuses and Beginnings

I read a blog post by Jamey Stegmaier today, titled Write a Blog. In his post, he states the following:

If you haven’t started a blog, you’ve probably convinced yourself that one or all of the following are true:

  • “There are so many blogs out there already–what can I possibly add that’s new?”
  • “I don’t have time to write a blog.”
  • “I have nothing interesting to say.”
  • “I’m not a good writer.”
  • “Blogs are outdated–I’m already on Twitter and Facebook.”
  • “I don’t have anything to promote yet.”

As I read the list, I mentally “checked off” each item and by the time I finished reading the rest of his post I had a new tab open in my web browser set to the landing page of wordpress.

I’ve always felt like writing a blog would be a great exercise. However, I’ve lurked on reddit long enough to experience what the internet can do to your most cherished ideas. By putting my thoughts and opinions on the internet I’m expecting to receive the same reaction I would get as if I presented Gordon Ramsay a burnt grilled cheese with a side of girl scout cookies. But that would just be another excuse and Jamey really hit the nail on the head: the above are just excuses.

This blog is going to be about:

  • Who I am.
  • What I am excited about.
  • What projects I’m working on.
  • What I find interesting.

Lets dive right in…

Games are ingrained in me. Some of my oldest/fondest memories include me hovering over my grandmother’s shoulder as she sat in her big pepto bismol pink recliner playing Solitaire on her aluminum folding TV table while watching “Murder She Wrote”. When I was around 8 years old, my older brothers and I created what we called “The Paper Game”, a D&D inspired RPG, which was invented out of necessity. Our parents didn’t want to purchase us the official D&D product due to moral obligations and a poor media representation. In middle school, my friend Marlin and I created “Brick Hammer” (I’ll let you figure out this one), another rip-off out of necessity, using our legos instead of the proprietary plastic miniatures that your average college graduate with a job in the tech industry, let alone a middle schooler, can’t afford.

Flash-forward to today: I keep a black notebook reserved for game design ideas within arms reach. I have notecards, markers, pencils, dice, wooden tokens, and marked up playing cards strewn about my kitchen table (which I should clean up before my wife gets home from work). I have a goal to one day create something that I am proud of, a game that I can put on the table at game night and see my family,  my friends, or strangers, enjoy.

Ultimately, this blog is about me and I figured that a good first impression was to share one my passions: playing and creating games. I look forward to writing more about the games I develop, my career as a system administrator, and other side projects/tinkering I do. No more excuses.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

